On optimism

The case for hope, even and especially now.

Nathan Ryan
6 min readSep 30, 2020

On Friday, September 18, I was driving to the store to get some beer after my last meeting of the day.

It had been a particularly weird week — my birthday was the day before. It was a pandemic birthday, so we stayed in and ordered Tex-Mex from one of my favorite local spots in South Austin, El Borrego De Oro.

Volunteers at Central Texas Food Bank. You can sign up for a shift here.

My ultimate comfort food is a plate of cheese enchiladas covered in chili con carne. But when I ordered online, I accidentally selected “chili con queso” for my enchilada sauce instead of “chili con carne.”

Amanda, Tim (my business partner and one of my closest friends, who has been part of my very small quarantine pod since March) and I sat at the dinner table and just couldn’t stop laughing, imagining what the chef must’ve thought, looking at my order.

Ok, so this guy wants cheese, wrapped in a tortilla, covered in melted cheese, with… a large side of melted cheese?
That’s what the order says.
Ok, then!

I couldn’t finish the plate, mostly from laughing. I don’t know for sure, but I’d guess that queso can be lethal if you snort it.

Now here I was on Friday, driving to the store to pick up some beer, trying to clear my head. The weather was…

--

--

Nathan Ryan

People person, friend 🤟 CEO, @blueskyprtnrs ; co-founder, @ourgoodpolitics ; board, #LBJFutureForum; commissioner, ATX; hot takes, my own